more than hijab

Multi-culture, multi-faith, multi-inspired

One of the best – Sigiriya, Sri Lanka

Leave a comment

IMG_1902

 

I first heard about Sigiriya from one of my staff 4 years ago in Dubai. Most of my team at that time were Sri Lankan and we used to spend lots of time procrastinating making the most of any quiet afternoons that we had at work by browsing through youtube videos on Sri Lanka. I fell in love with Sigiriya as soon as I learned about it and I put it in my mind that I would visit there one day. The history is outstanding and it is an absolute marvel to see!. I still find it amazing to believe that a palace was built at such a huge height so many years ago, and with so few resources. Luckily, I visited sooner than expected because I not only fell in love with Sri Lanka, I also fell in love with a Sri Lankan and I combined my wedding with my honeymoon trip around the island. Some would say that’s a double whammy!

You can read more about it through this link, but for now here are a few snaps that I took from a very very hot trek to the top while I was visiting my Sri Lankan family last year. 

IMG_1911

View from the top

 

IMG_1896

The gardens below

IMG_1912

 

 

 

Break midway – it is hard work believe me!

IMG_1949

What a sense of awe, achievement and wonder when we finally reached the top. Beautiful.

Author: noorlaila265

Hospitality trainer, wife, mother, multi-faith, reader, writer, food fanatic, lover of poetry. “Study me as much as you like, you will not know me, for I differ in a hundred ways from what you see me to be. Put yourself behind my eyes and see me as I see myself, for I have chosen to dwell in a place you cannot see.”

Leave a Reply

