more than hijab

Multi-culture, multi-faith, multi-inspired

Practice what you preach

Leave a comment

Watched this video from Nouman Ali Khan this evening and it really struck a chord with me. We are all very good at remembering the parts of Islam that “suit” us – but what about the parts that don’t? I am guilty of this myself and I am always ready to answer back to the more traditional members of my family when they start a daw’ah overload – but what am I actually doing to understand and accept this religion for my own benefit first of all, before others. 
As a revert, I know how much pressure we face after reverting as we face the onslaught of questions about how much we’ve learnt so far etc – so I do know that at times it is easy to go along with the more memorable parts of our religion in order to appear more knowledgeable. However, the only result of this is lack of confidence and motivation, as I experienced in the past.  

After watching this very short video for only five minutes, I felt revitalized and have started again to make more of a concerted effort to complete my Ramadan aims.

InshAllah, wherever you are, you are all happy and healthy. Noora x

 

 

Author: noorlaila265

Hospitality trainer, wife, mother, multi-faith, reader, writer, food fanatic, lover of poetry. “Study me as much as you like, you will not know me, for I differ in a hundred ways from what you see me to be. Put yourself behind my eyes and see me as I see myself, for I have chosen to dwell in a place you cannot see.”

Leave a Reply

