more than hijab

Multi-culture, multi-faith, multi-inspired

Hijab: A Man’s Thoughts

Leave a comment

Inspiring and interesting piece from Hijab Takes:Unpinned yet again. So interesting to read from a brothers point of view. MashAllah, Noora xx

Hijab Tales: Unpinned

20140620-194131-70891601.jpg

As a Muslim man, I don’t feel so much concerned with the hijab and whether someone chooses to wear it or not. Surprising? Not so much I think, let me tell you a bit of my story:

At the very beginning of my journey to Islam, I was naive: I thought that women wearing the hijab were good and righteous persons, without exceptions. Travelling and meeting lots of different Muslim women taught me I was a bit too much optimistic. I have seen directly or indirectly that women wearing the hijab could without any complex break the fundamental Islamic principles of being respectful, kind and compassionate… and I purposely omit those drinking alcohol or smoking. On the opposite, some of the people I appreciate the most and who I’m able to blindly trust don’t wear it, so….?

Partial conclusion: Wearing the hijab does not guarantee being a righteous person. Obvious…

View original post 554 more words

Author: noorlaila265

Hospitality trainer, wife, mother, multi-faith, reader, writer, food fanatic, lover of poetry. “Study me as much as you like, you will not know me, for I differ in a hundred ways from what you see me to be. Put yourself behind my eyes and see me as I see myself, for I have chosen to dwell in a place you cannot see.”

Leave a Reply

