more than hijab

Multi-culture, multi-faith, multi-inspired

Welcome to Morethanhijab.com!

Leave a comment

Welcome to my page ladies (and gents if you’re interested). I decided on the name morethanhijab after researching the many blogs on the net for young Muslims. I found that most, if not all, had an article or discussion about hijab and the right or wrong way to go about correct hijab. I found vloggers, tweeters, facebookers, instagramers, many giving hijab tutorials; I found lectures on Islamic webpages on the virtues of hijab; I found aggressive comments from unknown users below stories of those who declines to wear hijab, or did not appear openly “Muslim”.  I became paranoid about my own attire – was it correct? Should I try a new style? Should I continue to loosely cover my hair only? Finally I had a thought…..

Is this all we, as modern, independent and free thinking Muslimah’s, got to talk about?

I fully understand and respect the Islamic guidelines on hijab; but I think we should stop to ask ourselves a question. Isn’t the obsession with it diverting our attention away from other issues? How many of us spend time on other things which are also expected in Islam? Do we spend enough time with our children? Do we dedicate time to increase our knowledge? When is the last time you donated to charity?  Do you make an effort not to spread gossip, however idle it may be? Do you strive not to pass judgement on others?

If we are being honest, I think the majority of us would admit that we are not perfect and fall short of at least one of the above expectations. But this isn’t the point that I want to make. 

The point is – why do we give each other such a hard time about it?

In an imperfect world, it is unrealistic of anyone to have such high expectations on others so I  wanted to start this site as a meeting place for intelligent dialogue, with a focus on inter faith and cross cultural issues. Lets all dedicate a little more time to improving our understanding of one another, and spreading the word that we, as women, are definitely more than what we wear! 

 

 

Author: noorlaila265

Hospitality trainer, wife, mother, multi-faith, reader, writer, food fanatic, lover of poetry. “Study me as much as you like, you will not know me, for I differ in a hundred ways from what you see me to be. Put yourself behind my eyes and see me as I see myself, for I have chosen to dwell in a place you cannot see.”

Leave a Reply

